I was fortunate enough to spend some time in Rome. While there, many natives told me about their passion for these large green beans. Somehow I never tried them then, but recently our local cooperative has surprised us with large quantities of fave beans, and I finally had the opportunity to try them and I have become a huge fun as well.

You will need:

500 g fave beans (can be less)

pasta for 4 persons (I used penne)

vegetable stock

vegan cheese, grated

ground pepper

extra virgin olive oil

This is how I make them:

I take the beans out of the pod and then take off the outer shell of the beans. It does take some time, but I find it relaxing. You can watch TV in the meantime if it bores you. Cook the beans in the vegetable stock for 20 minutes. Boil the pasta in the meantime, and when it is ready, mix in the beans, add a tiny bit of extra virgin olive oil, pepper and salt to taste. I like to grate vegan cheese on top. (Cheddar style Cheezely).

Buon appetito!