It is my birthday and since I don’t know any vegan bakeries in Geneva, I had to make my own bday cake. I have to say it was amazing! And MANY THANKS to Mattie for the basic recipe. I changed it a little bit. For example I used maple syrup instead of sugar, and changed the quantities a bit to match my 250 ml tub of silken tofu. No need to bake and I have to say, that Mattie is right: the most difficult part in making this delicious wheat-free cake is that you have to wait 4 hours to set! I used:

180 ml melted coconut oil

250 ml silken tofu

half a cup maple syrup (you may want to use more if you like it sweet)

2 tablespoons of cocoa powder

1 table spoon of margarine

1 and half tablespoons of corn starch (Mattie uses tapioca or arrowroot starch)

1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

pinch of salt

80 grams melted chocolate (99 % cocoa content)

1 small cup (170 ml) of raspberries

mint leaves and raspberries to decorate.

So you get your hand mixer, and blend everything together in the order that they are listed. Pour it into your form, put it into the fridge, and start making dinner or do something to take your mind off this yummy stuff. And when the time is up, you can take it out, loosen the edges with a knife, and carefully put the cake on your serving plate. Decorate and devour!