Chickpea dish with mixed rice and salad

I was inspired to make this dish by the ideas my dear friend, Marsha gave me to use the chickpeas I had in my fridge. (I tend to cook far too many chickpeas at once…)

I used for a portion for two:

1 tbsp olive oil

1 clove of crushed garlic

1 cup boiled chickpeas

1 cup boiled barley (or mixed rice)

about ¾ cup of tomato sauce (chopped tomatoes would be great too)

50 grams diced tofu

dried basil leaves, cayenne pepper, ground coriander, garam masala, ground cumin, turmeric, salt,

150 grams spinach leaves, cooked

I warmed the garlic in a pan in the olive oil. (I guess the goodies from the garlic remain better this way, but if you are planning to get social tonight, then cook it for a while to take away the strong taste J.) Then I tossed all the remaining ingredients on top of it and let the flavours blend together for a while. Very filling!

Served with a mixed salad and sprouts.